18.06.2018, 20:48 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
DeepDayze
Titel: Kanotix on IBM Thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 31.12.2005, 20:51 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

I am considering installing kanotix on an IBM Thinkpad T22 that I just purchased. Any considerations for this particular notebook?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Swynndla
Titel: RE: Kanotix on IBM Thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 31.12.2005, 22:58 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 414
Wohnort: Auckland, New Zealand
Some IBM laptops where they have a recovery partition at the start of the hard drive have an issue ... if you want to have windows and linux and want to dual boot, and you install grub to the mbr, but when you reboot you don't get a grub menu and can't boot linux or windows ... the fix (if this happens) is to go into your bios and change the recovery partition setting from "hidden" to unhidden. Then grub understands what's going on and everything will work.

_________________
Linux is evolution, not intelligent design - Linus Torvalds
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
grell
Titel: RE: Kanotix on IBM Thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 01.01.2006, 13:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 20

I use 2005-03 on a t23 and I'm quite happy with it. I erased the recovery partition and installed WinXP and Kanotix myself as I was used to. I never bothered to use advanced power-up/down features, I just use the t23 like my desktop machine and everything is fine.
Georg
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: Kanotix on IBM Thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 01.01.2006, 19:26 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

Thanks for the replies. I do not have the recovery partition as the machine's a refurbished one and the HD is new. It currently has Win2K installed. Will try installing Kanotix on a spare notebook HD I have
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: Kanotix on IBM Thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 04.01.2006, 17:08 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

OK, I got Kanotix installed on the Thinkpad and so far works well pretty much out of the box. Even the wireless card worked perfectly without needing ndiswrapper. Just also had to do a little tweaking to get the ACPI features on this machine set up properly. Thanks for a great distro, Kano Cool
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
dprice
Titel: thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 04.05.2006, 02:13 Uhr



Anmeldung: 26. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 2

deepdayze:

any chance you could elaborate on acpi tweaking on your T22? i have the same machine and i'd love to get suspend to ram and/or suspend to disk working. i'm still trying to figure out hotswapping in the ultrabay also. thanks for any pointers.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Crust
Titel: RE: thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 04.05.2006, 02:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 20. Okt 2005
Beiträge: 278

Thinkpads are probably the best supported notebooks out there.
Check: http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/ThinkWiki

For ACPI,

http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/How_to_make_ACPI_work

-Crust
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: thinkpad T22  BeitragVerfasst am: 06.05.2006, 16:45 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

@dprice: I did not do any special ACPI tweaking on my T22 as I didn't need the suspend to ram feature. When I have time I may play with tweaking the ACPI to make suspend work.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 08.05.2006, 02:49 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
Kanotix is great. I just wish my lcd screen was a little brighter Smilie
I ran Kanotix on a couple different T20's for months and months, now I've been running it on a T23 for months and months and months. I don't need the ACPI, and about the only thing out of the ordinary I do is run the Kanotix Network Card Script manually each boot to activate the lan or wlan. I have a brand new T60, fully loaded, which I would love to install kanotix on. It's running XP pro, but it's my work laptop, and it's a windows shop Traurig

Thinkpads in any flavor are great for kanotix.

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.05.2006, 17:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

Why not see if you can dual-boot it or use a Kano-CD?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
xxgsf
23 Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.05.2006, 05:52 Uhr



Anmeldung: 01. Feb 2006
Beiträge: 4

I have Kanotix installed on my T21 and it works great, supertux doesn't work though (sound skips Traurig )...
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 02:52 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
DeepDayze hat folgendes geschrieben::
Why not see if you can dual-boot it or use a Kano-CD?


I did stick the brand new Easter Kanotix CD in the T60. Doesn't detect anything, no sound, no network, no wlan, no nothing.
Not too concerned though. My T23 with the Easter Install is running fine for home/personal use.

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 03:43 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 299

The T60 is a rather new machine...not sure if the devices are detected out of the box.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 06:28 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
DeepDayze hat folgendes geschrieben::
The T60 is a rather new machine...not sure if the devices are detected out of the box.


they are not detected at all.

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
al3
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 23:09 Uhr



Anmeldung: 13. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 446

Anthony hat folgendes geschrieben::
DeepDayze hat folgendes geschrieben::
Why not see if you can dual-boot it or use a Kano-CD?


I did stick the brand new Easter Kanotix CD in the T60. Doesn't detect anything, no sound, no network, no wlan, no nothing.
Not too concerned though. My T23 with the Easter Install is running fine for home/personal use.


hmmm. Makes no sense. Did you try with the boot parms:
acpi=off noapic nolapic

Try it and see if that works with the network at least. Sound is another matter.

Al

_________________
Jaya123: Your office on the web
http://www.jaya123.com
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
h2
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 06.06.2006, 20:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 1005

t41 works great too, as noted, if you want a laptop that is going to have great support, get an ibm. Except for the very latest, since support for those probalby is still not in the kernel, the new ibms do a lot of really annoying stuff that I know I don't want.

Just so you know, read recently, all of redhat uses ibm/lenova laptops, I believe it's the laptop of choice of the free software foundation, gnu, etc.

I haven't tested my wireless so I can't say if it works or not, suspend to ram works, you need to use kpowersaved, not klaptopd, which has been abandonned and is not being developed anymore.

I had a glitch with my swap, or else my suspend to swap would also work, I'll fix that one of these days, powersave just doesn' t know about my swap partition but would write to it if it could learn where it is.

Sound works perfectly. I don't use that hidden stuff, it's a reformatted hard drive with standard xp/kanotix dual booting, though I basically never use xp, I should shrink its partition down.

_________________
Read more on dist-upgrades using du-fixes-h2.sh script.
New: rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 22:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
after much debate on whether or not to install kanotix on my T60, I decided to go ahead and install. (easter edition)
Installed to the hard drive great, kept windows, kept the ibm service partition and everything.

Only problem is I have no network and no wlan.

the internal network card is an Intel E1000 Network Card
the wlan is IPW3945 Card from Intel

If anyone can help me get either of these going, without using ndiswrapper, beer twelve packs will come your way Winken

thanks in advance!

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:04 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2128

Let's begin with the network card. Connect it to your router, open Konsole and enter
Code:
ifconfig -a

If interface "eth0" shows up, you can configure it with
Code:
sux
netcardconfig

Select it from the list of interfaces and enable "DHCP" if your router is set to assign IP adresses dynamically.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:12 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2128

WLAN may be a different story: http://kanotix.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-19743-highlight-ipw3945.html
Or try ndiswrapper. There's nothing wrong with using Windows drivers on Linux.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:12 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
it doesn't show up
there's nothing in there but lo

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:20 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
give me a moment to install the .17 smp kernel and see what happens.

I am on aol im = keeblin90210 if anyone wants to chat Winken

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:20 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2128

Shut windows down entirely, no hibernate or suspend. Then try it again.

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
ockham23
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:28 Uhr



Anmeldung: 25. Mar 2005
Beiträge: 2128

Zitat:
it doesn't show up
there's nothing in there but lo

Did you append the "-a" argument?

_________________
And I ain't got no worries 'cause I ain't in no hurry at all (Doobie Brothers, "Black Water").
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:40 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
of course Smilie

after upgrading to kernel 2.6.17.8-slh-smp-1, I now have the internal lan working out of the box with netcardconfig.

Now working on the wlan

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Anthony
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.08.2006, 23:50 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: hagerstown, md
hmm. i installed the ipw3945*.deb's after the kernel upgrade like the kanotix faq on kernel upgrades suggest, and I thought that would do it, but nothing.
I have lan right now, I can throw in an old pcmcia card that I know works if I wish. but the internal wlan is my ultimate goal on this bad boy.

_________________
Anthony
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden AIM-Name  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.