31.10.2014, 04:20 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Poll
Have you installed Xorg 7.0 already?
yes
77%
 77%  [ 46 ]
no, not yet
22%
 22%  [ 13 ]
i will not use it
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Stimmen insgesamt : 59


Autor Nachricht
titan
Titel: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 14:44 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 526
Wohnort: Waliser Märze
devil28 hat folgendes geschrieben::
titan,

it has to be wget -NC, not wget.

devil


hi devil, yes it was the new script, any other suggestions please.

Ian
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
drb
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 15:39 Uhr



Anmeldung: 03. Jul 2004
Beiträge: 525

I had exactly the same problem. I downloaded the new file to overide the old one and couldn't get kde back. I've ended up with apt-get remove --purge kdm; apt-get install kdm; reboot to get my desktop back - unfortunately I can't get the kdm option to work only the xdm. With xdm I can't alter my screen resolution! At least I've got a desktop.

drb

PS just noticed ln -s /usr/bin/X /usr/X11R6/bin! Getting there!

_________________
Kernel 2.6.21-slh-up-7
_____________________
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
titan
Titel: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 17:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 07. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 526
Wohnort: Waliser Märze
I have just checked everything again and it looks like it is an error in the new xorg.conf file, startx give the following error.

using config file /etc/x11/xorg.conf parse error line 161 of section monitor in file /etc/x11/xorg.conf 1280x1024 is not a valid keyword in this section.

and at the end

fatal server error no screens found.


ian
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Bill
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 17:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 23. Nov 2005
Beiträge: 24

It's getting over into testing now so use caution. I'm going to wait until Kanotix has a new live cd with Xorg 7 to try brfore burning myself for the 3rd time.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Yahoo Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 18:11 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
Easter is out !!!

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mt_deb
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 21:03 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 56
Wohnort: Montana USA
Thanks piper , got it and I'm seeding now ................whoooo hooo thanks Kano!

will let you know how it is after I install it on my play computer

_________________
Give a man a match and he will be warm for a minute.
Light him on fire and he will be warm the rest of his life!


http://www.prettynewfaces.com
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
gardyloo
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 22:02 Uhr



Anmeldung: 14. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 60

Easter's installed. Xorg works (finally! 7.0.12!) and other than the usual little bits of personalizing the thing, restoring certain programs, etc., it works great. Hope others' experiences are as pleasant.

(I just did the "upgrade installation" option from the live cd. Worked fine)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mt_deb
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 16.04.2006, 23:52 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 56
Wohnort: Montana USA
I have one problem so far everything installed just fine , but it is as if my cdrom does not exsit, so I tried to mount it via a terminal by doing mount /dev/cdrom

and here is the error I am getting

mount: block device /dev/cdrom is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/cdrom,
missing codepage or other error


any clues ??? the cdrom is spinning as I can hear it, I also tried running K3b to see if it would do it's normal first run thing by showing the speed settings and ask if this was correct and sure enough it did so K3b does see the cdrom drive.

I just need to figure out why it wont mount when I put it in the drive ( the cd I am trying to mount has all my saved settings and such )

Thanks for any suggestions

Deb

By the way how do you know what version of Xorg you are running , I mean I assume there is a file somewhere that shows the version ?

_________________
Give a man a match and he will be warm for a minute.
Light him on fire and he will be warm the rest of his life!


http://www.prettynewfaces.com
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mt_deb
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 00:06 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 56
Wohnort: Montana USA
SOLVED ...Thanks to Devil28 ( one of your posts elsewhere ) Just found it

I edited /etc/default/hal ....I uncommented the last line and rebooted and everything is good now !

I'm so glad you guys are so smart ( kisses )

_________________
Give a man a match and he will be warm for a minute.
Light him on fire and he will be warm the rest of his life!


http://www.prettynewfaces.com
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
piper
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 00:08 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 03. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 1544
Wohnort: out there somewhere
Good Deal Smilie

_________________
h2's d-u script
h2's rdiff-backup script
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
mt_deb
Titel: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian time)  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 00:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 56
Wohnort: Montana USA
I spoke too soon, I got excited when I saw the icons show up on the desktop and I figured all was good , nope , still won't mount. Dang I can't imagine why they won't mount.

_________________
Give a man a match and he will be warm for a minute.
Light him on fire and he will be warm the rest of his life!


http://www.prettynewfaces.com
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
master_b
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 05:34 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Nov 2004
Beiträge: 87

devil28, your advice re "there was a little mistake in the wget.
it has to be wget -NC, not wget." wont work for me - I get"--C command not found"

please post correct command in full to enable cut n paste.

re "synaptic is not to be used for dist-upgrade!!" sorry, I meant update - don't think that synaptic does upgrades - am I correct?


----------------------

never mind above nots,

tried " ln -s /usr/bin/X /usr/X11R6/bin"

and got my KDE desktop back

thanks

Bill
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
jackiebrown
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 06:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 13. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 732
Wohnort: Texas
master_b

this worked for me

ln -s /usr/bin/X /usr/X11R6/bin
(thanks devil)

_________________
Always acknowledge a fault. This will throw those in authority off their guard and give you an opportunity to commit more.
Mark Twain
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Bam
Titel: Re: RE: Re: updated with Synaptic today ( 16Apr Australian t  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 07:37 Uhr



Anmeldung: 12. Aug 2004
Beiträge: 23

piper hat folgendes geschrieben::
Easter is out !!!


Used the easter release with the upgrade installation option & fixed my problems. After about an hour of tweaking/re-installing a few programs, I was back where I was before I messed up my dist-upgrade. This couldn't have come out at a better time! Beats the hell out of re-installing from scratch & spending a day configuring everything back to my liking. Thanks to all involved.

I still wish I could have figured out how to manually fix my problem. I hate not knowing how I fixed something, would rather have learned something along the way, but at least I'm back to a full running system.

Now I just have to remember to verify my backup isn't corrupt before doing my next dist upgrade Verlegen

Thanks again.


Zuletzt bearbeitet von Bam am 17.04.2006, 10:56 Uhr, insgesamt ein Mal bearbeitet
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
eco2geek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 09:33 Uhr



Anmeldung: 02. Mai 2004
Beiträge: 471
Wohnort: Portland, OR, USA
master_b hat folgendes geschrieben::

never mind above nots,

tried " ln -s /usr/bin/X /usr/X11R6/bin"

and got my KDE desktop back

thanks

Bill

Thanks! kdm stopped working on 2 boxes (startx and xdm both worked, but kdm didn't) and...that fixed it!
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
dpdt1
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 12:24 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: Athens
i don't know if it's a xorg problem or an ati driver one.. (since the update script updated both xorg and fglrx) but i have an issue with fgl_glxgears and glxgears.

Zitat:
dpdt1@home01:~$ fgl_glxgears
Using GLX_SGIX_pbuffer
Floating point exception


Zitat:
Apr 17 14:19:42 localhost kernel: fgl_glxgears[19560] trap divide error rip:2b3777cdf1cd rsp:7fffffb303f0 error:0


glxgears works, (i see the turning gears) but i dont have any (frame speed) output.

any ideas?
(running 2.6.16.2-slh64-smp-1 kernel)

_________________
Hey Bobby Marley
Sing Something Good To Me
This World Go Crazy
It's An Emergency
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 13:00 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
dpdt1,
yup, use glxgears -printfps
you could also try glxgears -iacknowledgethatthistoolisnotabenchmark
which explains a bit, why things have changed.
maybe.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
dpdt1
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 13:19 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: Athens
ok. i know its not a benchmark, but since this is probs and sols for the latest update, i thought i dropped my story too..

anyway, thanks.

oh and fgl_glxgears works if i run "fgl_glxgears -fbo". i just had to search a bit more..

_________________
Hey Bobby Marley
Sing Something Good To Me
This World Go Crazy
It's An Emergency
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 13:51 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
glxgears -iacknowledgethatthistoolisnotabenchmark is not my idea, its a real cheat from the maker of glxgears. try it, it works.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
dpdt1
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 14:01 Uhr



Anmeldung: 05. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 42
Wohnort: Athens
yes it does.
i'm sorry i misunderstood at first.

thanks.

_________________
Hey Bobby Marley
Sing Something Good To Me
This World Go Crazy
It's An Emergency
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
homer911
Titel: RE: Re: RE: Have you installed Xorg 7.0? what are the probs/  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 18:46 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 144
Wohnort: UK
Been shopping, no difference - Looks like a case of Debian-ism Smilie

Spat my dummy, threw my toys out of the sandpit and started again.

Guess what ?

knxcc and knxcc-kde are the culprits Traurig

And XOrg7 of course

Just as well I held onto a dual boot W2KP/Kano hd
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: RE: Re: RE: Have you installed Xorg 7.0? what are the probs/  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 18:49 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
homer,
for knxcc, do:
dpkg -i --force-confmiss --force-confnew /var/cache/apt/archives/kdebase-data_4%3a3.5.2-1_all.deb
then: apt-get install knxcc-kde
fixed

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
homer911
Titel: RE: Re: RE: Have you installed Xorg 7.0? what are the probs/  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 19:10 Uhr



Anmeldung: 21. Jun 2005
Beiträge: 144
Wohnort: UK
devil28,

Thanks but - slh is not very keen on the --force option and I kinda agree.

I am about an hour away from installing EASTER - so I will give that a go and see what happens.

Mein kinder are off to SuSe so - no real rush

Homer Smilie
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: RE: Re: RE: Have you installed Xorg 7.0? what are the probs/  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 19:11 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
homer,
in this case --force is the only way to go, even slh will agree on that.
if you install easter preview, none of this is needed.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Boldie
Titel: RE: Re: RE: Have you installed Xorg 7.0? what are the probs/  BeitragVerfasst am: 17.04.2006, 19:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 1

I have done a dist-upgrade(stupid stupid n00b), followed all the steps recommended on the first page. X is dead, X is dead.. Well there are a problem with the fixed fonts. I get a message that says sometheing like this: "can't find fonts "fixed"". At first I got a message "cant open "Speedo"" but that I fixed by # it in Xorg.conf.

Any one?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.