28.07.2014, 23:45 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
tischke
Titel: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 01:50 Uhr



Anmeldung: 29. Mai 2006
Beiträge: 25

Wow,

LiveCD runs fine, no sound yet, and I have not tested
the wifi (Atheros 5006) yet. I have a ton of stuff
to learn as I am fairly clueless Winken but I will try to
update this as I do learn.

Any ideas on when RCs will appear for amd64? or
do I upgrade fron '05-04 ?

Many thanks...

(Realtek ALC260)
(booted with acpi off)
(no sound in dapper either)


Zuletzt bearbeitet von tischke am 29.05.2006, 03:59 Uhr, insgesamt ein Mal bearbeitet
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 03:48 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 297

had you tried lspci -vv yet? This can show you the information about devices that are on the internal bus. This can list the sound chip used in this machine. Post that here and someone might be able to assist you

Cheers Smilie

Note: open a terminal then type sudo lspci -vv (command needs root privileges)
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
tischke
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 04:04 Uhr



Anmeldung: 29. Mai 2006
Beiträge: 25

Thanks for the reply. I can't post the "lspci" right now, but I think the chip is a Realtek ALC260 !?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 04:36 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 297

think ALSA should support that
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
devil
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 29.05.2006, 06:49 Uhr
Team Member
Team Member


Anmeldung: 06. Mai 2005
Beiträge: 3087
Wohnort: berlin
tischke,
run as root:
alsaconf
then open kmix and adjust volume and run
alsactl store
which sets the startup volume.
your card should give sound now.

greetz
devil

_________________
<<We are Xorg - resistance is futile - you will be axximilated>>

Host/Kernel/OS "devilsbox" running[2.6.19-rc1-git5-kanotix-1KANOTIX-2006-01-RC4 ]
CPU Info AMD Athlon 64 3000+ clocked at [ 803.744 MHz ]
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
tischke
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 30.05.2006, 04:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 29. Mai 2006
Beiträge: 25

Thanks for the directions: we have sound. Next I will test the
ethernet card and if that works: HD install....

Sympathy for the devil.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
DeepDayze
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 30.05.2006, 14:44 Uhr



Anmeldung: 08. Dez 2005
Beiträge: 297

Good idea to also make notes what needs to be configured so you can do same thing once you installed Kanotix to the notebook's hard disk.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
tischke
Titel: RE: Kano-64-2005-04-LITE on Lifebook A3040: no sound  BeitragVerfasst am: 31.05.2006, 18:57 Uhr



Anmeldung: 29. Mai 2006
Beiträge: 25

Thanks again...(this is moving a lot faster than with my first linux box 15yrs ago: a dec-alpha.
All this stuff is still "way over my head" Winken )

Next baby step: the network card is recognized and I can connect to the (wired) LAN... great!

HD installation: WXP sits on a 30GB NTFS (resized using another linux installer and WXP does see a 32122MB NTFS. ) I should see a ~80GB reiserfs /dev/hda6 in the Kanotix-installer but it crashes as soon as it starts partitioning the disk. QTparted asks me for a root password (which I do not have) and sees nothing if I overrride the password check... I need to RTFM.

root> knxinstaller
No Implementation: Support for opening ntfs file systems is not implemented yet... crashing


... ok... I did a "sudo qtparted" and I see the partitions now:

01 /dev/hda1 ntfs Active 31.3 GB
02 /dev/hda3 extended 78.13 GB
^ 03 /dev/hda5 linux-swap 502 MB
^ 04 /dev/hda6 reiserfs 77.64 GB no label
05 /dev/hda2 ntfs 2.29 GB

Somehow qtparted crashes in the installer but works fine by itself....no
problem:
hda5 10GB /
hda6 2GB/swap
hda7 64GB/home

Installation started.... and completed successfully! ...Well almost my
"/home" and "/swap" did not get picked up. I can grab the 62GB partition
with mkresierfs and the swap space with mkswap/swapon... but I have no idea how to save these changes: every time I reboot these
filesystems are not mounted....
mkswap /dev/hda6
swapon /dev/hda6
mkreiserfs /dev/hda7

Interstingly cfdisk and qtparted give me conflicting info?
cfdisk:
...
hda6 Linux Swap 2Gb
hda7 Linux ResiserFS 67Gb
...

qtparted:
.....
hda6 reiserfs 62Gb
hda7 linux-swap 2Gb
....
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.