23.10.2021, 08:31 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
rich.bradshaw
Titel: Compiz?  BeitragVerfasst am: 11.10.2006, 12:15 Uhr



Anmeldung: 14. Jan 2006
Beiträge: 287

Hi,

Just upgrading to latest 2006-01-RC4, started with compiz and everything works - 3d cube, bendy windows etc. I didnm't think it would as I have Intel Integrated Graphics!

Where are the settings for it? I am upgrading my installation as I type this - will compiz work on that by default? What do I do to make it work if it doesn't??

Are there any other compiz related things I can install?

Thanks!

Rich
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Debian_Disciple
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.10.2006, 00:18 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 23

I am looking for the same info myself:) I'll keep my eyes peeled
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Debian_Disciple
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.10.2006, 02:24 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Jul 2006
Beiträge: 23

see this post it should get you started http://www.kanotix.com/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-21251.html
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
eco2geek
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 13.10.2006, 06:08 Uhr



Anmeldung: 02. Mai 2004
Beiträge: 471
Wohnort: Portland, OR, USA
If you're running XGL/compiz and don't have beryl installed (for example, if you're running from the live CD with the "compiz" cheat), you can simply get root in a console and

apt-get update && apt-get install gconf-editor

then run gconf-editor & as normal user. In the left-hand pane, go to "/ > apps > compiz > plugins" and make your configuration changes.

By the way, is anyone using beryl/emerald with XGL, as opposed to with AIGLX?

<edit> I just tried adding the "kanotixguide" repo and installing beryl and emerald while running from the live CD, and starting "beryl-manager". Beryl replaces compiz and works fine.

To the original poster: Since the Beryl Settings Manager and the Emerald Theme Manager are much easier to use and give you more functionality than compiz, you might try installing those and using them instead.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 20.10.2006, 11:29 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
I've tried adding the kanotixguide repo and there are no errors when apt-get updating but there are no emerald/beryl packages when I search for them.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
eislon
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 20.10.2006, 11:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 18. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 17

Can we add the compiz-quinn tools ? I understand that quinn collects all compiz tools..
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen ICQ-Nummer 
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 20.10.2006, 11:55 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16755

beryl=compiz-quinn
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
turtaf
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.11.2006, 14:00 Uhr



Anmeldung: 29. Aug 2005
Beiträge: 38
Wohnort: Italy
ok, two words about compiz...

I have a laptop with an intel graphic card, I installed 2006-rc4, with compiz working, great stuff

I experience this problem: In some dialog-windows that appear I don't see anything and I have to guess things a bit...(for example gimp dialogs, or the kdesu ones)

Can I solve it somehow? If no, how can I tell my system not to use compiz???

I hope to manage it to work, it's really useful for finding windows around...

bye
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 02.11.2006, 02:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Maybe try typing export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1 in konsole then run the app command. If it solves it you can try creating a small script or something to always run the command before the app. Or there may be some universal config file you can add it to. I think it says something like that if you use the install-compiz script.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
turtaf
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 03.11.2006, 08:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 29. Aug 2005
Beiträge: 38
Wohnort: Italy
mh...could you please put it in a bit dummier way????

the first part is ok, but how can I restart the application? should I kill it?
how I run it again?

then if it works I'll ask you for the script

I also downloaded gconf editor, can't I do anything from there?

thanks again....
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden Website dieses Benutzers besuchen MSN Messenger  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
shame
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 03.11.2006, 11:21 Uhr



Anmeldung: 16. Apr 2006
Beiträge: 207
Wohnort: England
Open konsole from kmenu and type XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1 and press enter, then type the command for one of the apps you are having problems with.
I'm not sure how that skip_argb line works it's just something I read.
I have only ever done it when I had problems with flash and firefox.
If it does anything for you, you could maybe edit the panel icon or menu entry you normally run the app from.
Edit the command to be something like
XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1 && gimp

This is an example of what I did with firefox -
I created a text file called /usr/bin/ff and made it executable (chmod +x /usr/bin/ff) with these contents -
Code:

#!/bin/sh
export XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1 firefox $@

The disable pango line was something that has been suggested to avoid slowdown problems with firefox, don't know if I even need that script anymore but I use it anyway.
I then launch firefox with "ff" instead of "firefox"
Another thing to try instead, try shading/rolling up the window/dialogues to see if the window contents appear. I sometimes had to do this when running xcompmgr on my old computer.
Failing that, try Beryl.

_________________
sidux 32 & 64 | PCLinuxOS | PC-BSD
repository of shame - compiz fusion & beryl repo for debian Sid/Lenny/Etch | 32-bit | 64-bit
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.