31.10.2014, 07:43 UhrDeutsch | English
Hallo Gast [ Registrierung | Anmelden ]

Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
Autor Nachricht
harryhood
22 Titel: Video resolution  BeitragVerfasst am: 26.04.2008, 14:43 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

I just started using RC7 and have a question.
I'm booting as a liveCD with a persistent home and the config saved to sdb1[usb stick].
I have to use fix-res 1600x1024 and restart x to get the resolution I need.
PC is a Dell 9300 laptop with ATI.
I have to do this on every boot. Is there any way to save this resoultion over a reboot?

Thanks!
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel: Video resolution  BeitragVerfasst am: 26.04.2008, 14:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Why not using

screen=auto fglrx

as option?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
Titel: RE: Video resolution  BeitragVerfasst am: 26.04.2008, 22:36 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Hi Kano!

I will give that a try on my next reboot.
Thanks for the best Live CD distro there is!!!



Brian
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
22 Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 27.04.2008, 16:35 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Hi Kano,

I tried the cheat code and thought it might have trouble as I was getting
errors about something to do with a "killswitch". Then it said that it couldn't find www.ati.com.
But when KDE loaded the resolution was 1600x1200.
Would screen=1600x1024 fglrx work?
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 27.04.2008, 16:36 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Then you can not get online via router correctly.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
22 Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 28.04.2008, 23:41 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Kano hat folgendes geschrieben::
Then you can not get online via router correctly.


But once the booting process is finished, I've got a connection that works fine.
Seems to be the "killswitch" is not compatable with ipw2200....

Anyhow, if I add the "screen=1600x1024" cheat, the resolution is 1600x1050
and I don't need to run fglrx. Not sure why it won't start at 1600x1024.
I'm saving my Kanotix configuration to sdb1. If I edit xorg.conf and do the save,
add the cheat "myconfig=/media/sdb1, will that save the resolution and ALPS touchpad
settings I've made?

Thanks for all the help!

Brian
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 29.04.2008, 11:17 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

thats impossible that it is the res you specified

screen=1680x1050

would be possible - but of course not random numbers!
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.04.2008, 15:46 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Hi Kano,

When I use the "screen resize & rotate" app, 1600x1024 is a choice.
I also see it in xorg.conf.
Don't know what I'm doing wrong.....
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.04.2008, 16:11 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

This is no native resolution. For 4:3 it would be 1600x1200, 16:10 is 1680x1050. Eveything else is wrong.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.04.2008, 19:02 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Hi Kano,

The laptop is a DELL 9300 which has a widescreen, 1920x1200.
I'll just play with it until I get the "native" resolution I need.
I did not know about that!

Does doing a "save Kanotix configuration" and rebooting
with myconfig=/media/sdb1, eliminate the need to enter
the boot cheat "screen=1600x1200?

Thanks!
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.04.2008, 19:13 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

then you use

screen=1920x1200 fglrx
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
22 Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.04.2008, 20:54 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Kano hat folgendes geschrieben::
then you use

screen=1920x1200 fglrx


Hi Jörg,

Does saving the configuration eliminate the need
for the "screen=1920x1200" boot cheat?

Thanks,

Brian
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Kano
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 30.04.2008, 21:53 Uhr



Anmeldung: 17. Dez 2003
Beiträge: 16275

Nope. Use a hd install.
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
harryhood
Titel:   BeitragVerfasst am: 01.05.2008, 01:55 Uhr



Anmeldung: 22. Apr 2005
Beiträge: 90

Hi Jörg,

Actually it does work! I did a fix-res 1920x1200 as root and restarted X.
Saved the configuration. Rebooted with the cheat's
home=scan myconfig=/media/sbd1 and KDE is running 1920x1200.

Thanks for taking the time to help!!

Brian
 
 Benutzer-Profile anzeigen Private Nachricht senden E-Mail senden  
Antworten mit Zitat Nach oben
Beiträge vom vorherigen Thema anzeigen:     
Gehe zu:  
Alle Zeiten sind GMT + 1 Stunde
Neues Thema eröffnen   Neue Antwort erstellen
Vorheriges Thema anzeigen Druckerfreundliche Version Einloggen, um private Nachrichten zu lesen Nächstes Thema anzeigen
PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 
 
Deutsch | English
Logos and trademarks are the property of their respective owners, comments are property of their posters, the rest is © 2004 - 2006 by Jörg Schirottke (Kano).
Consult Impressum and Legal Terms for details. Kanotix is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
This CMS is powered by PostNuke, all themes used at this site are released under the GNU/GPL license. designed and hosted by w3you. Our web server is running on Kanotix64-2006.